Giant pink ribbon on the corner of 5th and Mar...

Breast Cancer Awareness

 

I scheduled my first mammogram for October 21, scared… a little, but not as scared as I was when I found out that my mom had breast cancer. She’s a survivor, but knowing what she went through makes it even more important to know that I need one. It was raining terribly, so I was not able to make it to the Breast Cancer Awareness walk, but there are other things that I can attend. The walk is my favorite because you get to see how many people actually experienced what my mom thought she was the only one experiencing. It gives you a better understanding and compassion of others stories, and how they made it through. When people have such a life-threatening altering experience they tend to feel alone, some even go through denial. The support of foundations, and certain events are a good motivation. It’s good to know you’re not alone. I am very grateful that my mother is still in remission. I will forever support the Pink, Black, and White.

